Thread: Starting a Hartley 14

Default Starting a Hartley 14

Hi, I'm new to boat building and I plan to start a Hartley 14 soon. I purchased the plans from Clark Craft and all I received were 2 pages of plans and some photocopies of information on building Hartley 16's and 21's. I've studied the plans thoroughly and I can't find any information on gussets, do I just cut them from scraps or do they have to be a specific size? Do I put gussets on either side of the frame or just one side? See I'm clueless.

Anyways thanks for the help.

Gerald

Default Re: Starting a Hartley 14

I can't help you with those specific plans but I can point you to a website that has hundreds of free plans for those old plywood on frame designs. Studying a couple of plans for boats similat to the Hartley would be a good tutorial because they illustrate the standard way things were done.
    http://www.svensons.com/boat/

Gusset both sides with quality marine ply. Here's a couple pics from the Glen-L site:

Mandurah, Western Oz....or Wongawallan Qld......or....er..somewhere in-between

Welcome to the forum Gerald, put up a few details about yourself and you'll find everyone a little more willing to help you out. Where are you located??

Do a search on Hartley's here and you'll find a good bit of information on them, including a TS14 build in progress:
    Larks

"Be who you are and say what you feel...
    Because those that matter...don't mind...
    And those that mind.... don't matter."

LPBC Beneficiary
    We're the only species on earth that claims to have a god...and the only species on earth that lives as if we don't have a god.
    (US Journalist Paul Kelly on advice from the crayfish)

Quote Originally Posted by GeraldC View Post