Thread: garvey plans

Default garvey plans

I'm new to the world of boat building. In fact I'v never built a boat, not even a model boat before. I know boats, work on boats, repair them but never built one from scratch.

I am looking for an entry level project I can build in my garage with my 2 sons. I was thinking a barnegate bay style garvey in the 18 to 20 ft range would be relatively easy to build and make a great boat for the bay. problem is I cant find a set of plans anywhere. Does anyone know where I can purchase a set of plans?

Does that make sense as a first attempt at boat building?

Default Re: garvey plans

Reuel Parker also has a garvey design
    Boatsmith Inc
    We Build Your Dreams
    (561) 744-0855
    www.boatsmithfl.com

And there are a couple of books with traditional and modified designs. Try Harry V Sucher , Simplified Boatbuilding. Either might be found in your library.

Sam Devlin (on the web) has a nice 17' modified garvey. I built the 14' version years ago and still love it. Enjoy.
    I was born on a wooden boat that I built myself.

Downingtown Pa (S/V UTOPIA down in Somer's Point, NJ)

I have built several cedar garveys and find them very easy to build.

An inexperienced person can build a traditional cedar garvey quicker than an epoxy/ plywood garvey. Anyone who argues this hasn't built a traditional cedar garvey.

Traditional cedar garveys are also much cheaper than plywood and epoxy. Especially if you live in south Jersey.

you do not need much in the way of plans to build one out of cedar.

Thad
    There is a joy in madness, that only mad men know. -Nieztsche

A bit smaller, but simple.

http://www.dngoodchild.com/divide_for_small_craft.htm

#5241--MULE--A 14-Ft Sailing Garvey
    by H. I. Chapelle