PDA

View Full Version : Fitting out MY powerboat.

Hal Forsen
12-20-2004, 01:38 PM
Now that you guys have completely hijacked my thread,I'll respond to suggestions and get down to the important stuff. Fitting out MY powerboat.

Bruce, my well thumbed copy of Chapman is about 30 years old. I'm a former Navy Boatswain's mate, Assault boat coxswain and all my life I've done a bit of sailing, surfing, cruising and fishing the Pacific Coast from Washington to Baja.
I have all the boat outfitters catalogs mentioned but I do need to get the product specific catalogs. Donn, I've seen Nigel Calder's book and it looked a little too comprehensive but I should probably have it.
MMD, Thanks; that is a nice job on your outfitting checklist and I will be using it as a starting point for MY boat.
Bill, I have been communicating with Alex Slaunwhite (Skiff Junkie)for a couple years now and have spoke with Dave Carnell also. I have all your skiff photos and every other Simmons Pic I can find in my 'puter and I spend countless hours staring at them and planning. Unfortunatly the Simmons Expo is held at our busiest time of year and it is hard to get away.

I am going to build the 18', mainly because it will fit.
The boat will be used for hook and line fishing in So. Cal. and Baja.
I had intended on using a 40 horse but Mr. Carnell and others have talked me into a 30.
I'll be using Honda (first choice) or Yamaha.
As it stands right now I plan to build a thwart well forward that has a small console atop with a seat in front of the console for my passenger.
A cross between this one http://www.simmonsseaskiff.com/Images/Macfie14.JPG and this http://clcboats.com/images/boats/dory_ph1_s.jpg
It will have a lighted compass,VHF, gps/fishfinder combo and maybe a am/fm or satellite radio for tunes,at least two Aux. power outputs, bilge pump, and a small bait tank.