PDA

View Full Version : copper/stainless/monel

mm
07-25-2001, 10:39 PM
I'm new at this cyberworld stuff, but am deep into a 1920s wood power cruiser's restoration. Anyone have thoughts, knowledge, or opinions about what metal to use for a small galley counter-top? The old one was a mystery- maybe monel- but definitely had lead welding bits- not a good thing around food, etc. I'm leaning towards copper, but have heard that monel would be more historically correct. I'm looking for a balance between history and health.

Ed Harrow
07-25-2001, 10:47 PM
I can't help you from a historical perspective, but I suggest the amount of heavy metals one would accumulate from whatever held the copperwork (or other) together would not be an issue.

Solder today is available in lead-free formulations, and really the amount of food likely to be prepared on the surface is relatively small, and the amount eaten by those likely to be affected by it is probably even smaller. (Your results may differ.)

mm
07-25-2001, 10:55 PM
Thank you Ed Harrow for the reassurance. If copper is used, is it possible to "hammer" in the bends, i.e. no solder or welds? And, if the galley is used often for actual cooking and not just cocktails, is copper a reasonalbe metal? And, one last thought- does monel really look different than stainless? Or does it just age better?

dasboat
07-26-2001, 12:34 AM
Monel looks like stainless only duller than the stainless sheen.
Monel will not tarnish as does copper.Copper will look great at first,but will oxydize and be forever demanding your attn.
Re:solder,You would have to set food directly on the solder and leave it for an appreciable amount of time to start taking on lead or tin.

PugetSound
07-26-2001, 02:24 AM