PDA

View Full Version : After Striping Hull ?

John Carbone
12-19-2003, 02:46 PM
I have a 55 lyman and i went out and bought a heat gun, well two for that matter after one broke, lol. i stripped the top which looks like a teek (sp) wood, and i stripped the hull. so what would be the next step ? epoxy ? and then paint ? whats a good brand paint ?

[ 12-19-2003, 03:47 PM: Message edited by: John Carbone ]

JimD
12-19-2003, 03:01 PM
You have a 55 teak Lyman? Man, are you lucky! :cool: And you are considering epoxying her? Man, are you trying to start a war??? :D Good luck, whatever you do. Sounds like a great project.

John Carbone
12-19-2003, 03:06 PM
lol no i am sorry, i am not good with explaining on the computer, the top looks like it could be teek, the hull is wood not sure what kind, bu the paint is off whats next ?

Paul Scheuer
12-19-2003, 06:05 PM
Pictures is always good. If you go to the Home Page (click at the bottom of this page) and click on "My Wooden Boat" you'll find lots of boats including a Lyman or two. Maybe you could point us to a similar one.

There's also lots of Lyman owners here who I'm sure will chime in.

My advice would be to thoroughly examine everything before you start finishing. I presume you are working indoors and you don't need to get it closed up quickly to protect it. Better to do all of the necessary work and finish it once.

John Carbone
12-21-2003, 05:24 AM
i will get you guys a pic soon thanks, its a 1955 lyman i believe is around 16ft, thanks

Domesticated_Mr. Know It All
12-22-2003, 05:09 AM
The decking and hull are probably Mahogany plywood. After stripping the paint and varnish, I would consider "reclinching" the hull (tightening the fasteners).Some of the bronze screws and copper clinch nails might need replaced. I have a 1961 Lyman 16 foot Outboard/Runabout.

Here is a good Lyman website---> http://lymanboats.com/