PDA

View Full Version : Trial and error

steveroo
02-16-2009, 12:30 PM
Well I'm a newbie as of yesterday, and after days of following Tenner's fabulous posts, and of course the many minions that refuse to give up the glory of wood, I have some issues with my "new" 1955 Monk. I will be trying to restore her to her former glory and am very lucky to have stumbled onto a boat that has basically had 4 owners since she 1st hit the ol briney. I'm in Portland OR, and have managed to find a slip that has 35' coverage on her 36'6" LOA.
I have sevaral areas that need attention; Deck leaks, window leaks, and a few rotspots (walk around deck areas) I have 38 years experience as a commercial carpenter, and at 56, maybe 4 years at hands on repair, and that Monk is the culmination of a dream I've had since I was 14.I believe that the deckrepair will involve removing the upper rubrail where it interfaces with the overlaid plywood (glass over) deck, particularly where I have rot around the stbd aft cleat..but seeing signs of H2O discoloraton inside on all that marvelous mahogany, I'm thinking that I should start by removing the rail and the corner moulding at the trunk cabin/deck joint, peel up the glass and begin by scarfing plywood pieces in to repair the rotted areas. I haven't seen the extent but some judicious tapping leads me to believe that I only have the area around the cleat that will require deck replacement. Suggestions as to what steps should be taken will be only too welcome, particularly on bedding the deck at the gunwale. Hopefully I'll be successful at pic posting, and also that the senior members will deal gently with my obvious lack of knowledge. Looking fwd to some great interaction and deserved criticism. any help on pic posting will be greatly appreciated as I have no URL for my photos.

Thorne
02-16-2009, 12:43 PM
Welcome to the Forum!