PDA

View Full Version : Interersting comments (legal related)

Tar Devil
01-15-2009, 10:50 AM
I was reading an article by Massad Ayoob and happened across this paragraph...

I’m in my 34th year as a sworn police officer, my 19th as a certified “police prosecutor,” and I know for a fact that we DO have the technology to pull things out of your hard drive that you thought were deleted. We DO have the right to ask you, under penalty of perjury, whether you post on any Internet forum, and under what name, and we DO have the power to subpoena any posts via your IP from the Internet hosts, who under law have no choice but to “give you up.” Don’t let the seeming anonymity of the Internet delude you: when things get serious, you won’t be anonymous anymore.

Most of you probably already knew this. Still kinda scary to read.

Flying Orca
01-15-2009, 02:56 PM
There are ways and ways, if you're determined. ;) Me, I don't really care.

TimH
01-15-2009, 02:58 PM
I would be flattered that they were interested in my boring life. Both online and off :)

Captain Blight
01-15-2009, 03:07 PM
A really heavy-duty electomagnet? Next to my computer? Why do you ask what I need that for? Youse guys with the CSI and the crime labs and the HEY HEY HEY are so smart, you can probably answer that one for me!!

Maybe I need to build an EMP gun.

TimH
01-15-2009, 03:13 PM
I believe there is software that will specifically overwrite your data in such a way that they cannot retreive it.

botebum
01-15-2009, 03:19 PM
"We DO have the right to ask you, under penalty of perjury, whether you post on any Internet forum, and under what name, ..."
They can ask anything they want. I don't have to tell them squat. Ya' see, there's this little piece of paper called the bill of rights:rolleyes:

Doug

TomF
01-15-2009, 03:21 PM
Doug,

Have you read the Patriot Act? You don't need to answer, but then they don't need to be nice.

botebum
01-15-2009, 03:23 PM