PDA

View Full Version : Sabb cooling (help!)

brigadoon
07-17-2003, 12:41 PM
My 2-cylinder, 22 HP Saab has a blocked raw water cooling system. I have already replaced the water pump diaphragm and valves, and the pump is working fine. The cooling water is not getting through the engine and back out to the silencer. I have tried flushing it with mild muriatic acid, but I simply can't get water to pass through the cooling channels (the silencer and exhaust is fine). I've removed the silencer and water intake tubes from the engine and tried running a wire "snake" through (it goes in quite a ways on both ends), but still no flow.

Can you offer any suggestions, short of removing the cylinder head cover? (I'm not sure that would give me access to the cooling jacket anyway). I do my own work, have a fairly decent manual and saab parts book, but I am a novice and rather intimidated about getting into the cylinders. Many thanks for any suggestions. Sheri Hall brigadoon2@aol.com

Bob Smalser
07-17-2003, 01:55 PM
Short of a power washer with nozzle pressed into a rubber cone fabricated to seal the water exit port-nozzle interface, you've already tried all my tricks. But be careful...you can blow water past the sleeve's seal, destroying it...which your muriatic acid already may have.

...and, if it's corrosion causing the blockage, that's only a temporary fix.

Dunno the Sabb, but pulling the head and sleeves (and I'm presuming this model has wet sleeves - can't tell from the pic) is no big deal...you'll need a half-inch socket set with torque wrench and maybe a large wheel puller, a ring compressor to fit your pistons for reinstallation, along with new head gasket set and o-rings for the sleeves....or whatever sleeve seal the Sabb uses.

We've done them by the side of the road rather than pay an expensive tow fee.

Your manual should cover it. If these engines require a special cylinder sleeve puller, perhaps you can borrow or rent one locally.