PDA

View Full Version : Help!! Rookie trying to refinish wood boat.

Jrich
02-24-2002, 03:06 PM
I recently received an old mahogany racing pran (kit) from my father in law. My 13 year old son and I are going to try to finish the boat. It's a project that was started some 35 years ago. I am a novice in boat refinishing but do have extensive experience in auto paint refinish work.
My concerns are what do I use to level the surface and seal before I topcoat. We will be painting the boat not staining/varnishing. Any help would be appreciated.

bob goeckel
02-24-2002, 03:15 PM
once sanded you might want to seal the wood with interlux interthane sealer. then use interlux sanding surfacer. then under coat or not then paint. be aware that marine paint is thin and shows every defect. i use interlux brightside.

Nicholas Carey
02-26-2002, 03:15 PM
Originally posted by Jrich:
I recently received an old mahogany racing pran (kit) from my father in law. My 13 year old son and I are going to try to finish the boat. It's a project that was started some 35 years ago. I am a novice in boat refinishing but do have extensive experience in auto paint refinish work.
My concerns are what do I use to level the surface and seal before I topcoat. We will be painting the boat not staining/varnishing. Any help would be appreciated.Step number one is fairing the hull.

Fill any dings with a mixture of epoxy and microballoons. Resist the urge to use Bondo or any other polyester-based material on your boat. Bondo and Polyester bad. Evil on boats. Polyester resins are not adhesives and will eventually just lift off the wood. Use epoxy instead -- it is an tenacious glue.

Microballoons are microscopic hollow glass bubbles that makes a great fairing compound (even on cars). Mixed with epoxy to a 'peanut butter' consistency, it makes light fairing compound that sands easily.