PDA

View Full Version : Where should we be investing now?

jack grebe
11-07-2008, 05:40 AM
Thoughts?

Tylerdurden
11-07-2008, 05:44 AM
Conservation and energy I would think. With the new admin some programs will move forward and doors will open.

ishmael
11-07-2008, 06:33 AM
Not advice, I'm by no means an expert on this, but I've been thinking about putting a bit of my money that went to the sidelines after 911 into innovative energy companies. That's a difficult call, because with a major recession hitting us the demand for energy is going to fall. Oil fell below 60 yesterday, and cheap oil is going to mean less incentive in the energy market.

Um, what else? Companies that are working on food. The population continues to increase and someone is going to have to feed them. I have mixed feelings about genetic engineering, but innovators in that field are liable to be profitable.

Banks. Not all lending institutions were stupid during this recent bubble. The ones with reasonable balance sheets will survive, and even thrive. Ya gotta keep that money moving, even in a downturn. Smart banks will bring a reasonable return, maybe not in stock price but in dividends.

Drug companies that are innovators. If Obama is able to pass even parts of his health care plan companies working on new therapies should do well.

Two cents.

Mrleft8
11-07-2008, 09:19 AM
Coke

Dan McCosh
11-07-2008, 09:29 AM
FWIW, biggest sector collapse recently has been alternative energy stocks.

spirit
11-07-2008, 09:38 AM
Keep most of your powder dry. There is a lot of deleveraging yet to come.

For cautious recovery (on deep dips): the consumer-staple ETFs, XLP and VDC.

For recovery (whenever the Dow approaches 8200): any of the most beaten-down, high quality ETFs or mutual funds, e.g. ILF and FCNTX. Note that the dividend on ILF is currently 20%!

George Roberts
11-07-2008, 10:31 AM
Local small businesses.

contented
11-07-2008, 10:39 AM