anyone with any hints on how to get rocker on a skiff?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wallacethegreenmonster
    • Jan 2005

anyone with any hints on how to get rocker on a skiff?

Building my second old wharf dory lumber yard work skiff and the plans call for the bottom part of the sides to be cut so that there is a very gentle concave curve with the idea i am guessing that when you flare the sides out the bow then turns upward and you don't have a downward pointing bow. Problem is I'm a novice and screwed this up the first time and now I'm about to put the transom in on this next skiff and it still won't get rocker. I'm cranking in the windlass and have a 2x4 beam in place to spread out the sides. Should I just bring in the transom and then cut a flare in the front of the boat after i put it together? Thanks for any help out there. WGM
  • KylBak
    • Feb 2006

Re: anyone with any hints on how to get rocker on a skiff?

WGM, I'm building a 16' Old Wharf skiff and had the same trouble. I ended up building a small model of the boat to mess with to figure it out. Giving the boat more beam, with the side panels cut as shown in the plans, will increase the upsweep of the bow. Putting more flare in the sides will do the same. However, on the fullsize boat, no matter how much I increased the beam or flare I couldn't get the bow right. Anyway, I was able to finally get it right by taking the weight off the bow. I just attached the transom, put in the spreader and then built a simple cradle that attached to the spreader that I jacked up until the stem no longer had any weight on it. It worked great. Without the chines or the bottom installed the side panels sag a surprising amount under their own weight. After I put the bottom on I let the bow back down and everything was fine. What boat are you building? The "sport" version? 16' or 20'? Just curious. Hope I helped.
    Kyle

Comment

• Thermo
      • Jan 2008