PDA

View Full Version : Moral Compass

Pages : [1] 2

Thom T
08-08-2008, 10:58 AM
I'm not a religious man, didn't start out that way but the more I studied religion the less religious I became. I do like to think of my self as moral however. So when I recall the seven deadly sins some things bother me. Like contests were people eat until they become ill, or state run lotteries, or pay day loans, and rent to own. I watched two young men put hundreds of dollars worth of gas in an off shore racing boat and some how I thought it was wrong. No! I don't advocate laws against anyone spending big bucks to ride up and down the intercoastal at 65mph but to me, it just seemed somehow wrong.

Kaa
08-08-2008, 11:04 AM
I watched two young men put hundreds of dollars worth of gas in an off shore racing boat and some how I thought it was wrong. No! I don't advocate laws against anyone spending big bucks to ride up and down the intercoastal at 65mph but to me, it just seemed somehow wrong.

While a woman in a mud hut in Africa looked at her hungry malaria-stricken child and as a thought about rich Americans living in big houses, with restaurants, and doctors, and entertainment around them crossed her mind, it just seemed somehow wrong to her.

Kaa

James McMullen
08-08-2008, 11:37 AM
Religion and morals are independent variables. How moral is it to torture someone to death by striking him with rocks until he dies for picking up sticks on a saturday? How moral is it to take a defeated enemy, kill all the adult men and older boys, and kill all of the women who have given birth, but keep all of the younger women and girls as concubines? How moral is it to burn heretics at the stake? How moral is it to crash a jetliner into a skyscraper? All of these things have been enthusiastically followed by extremely religious people at one time or another. The people who carried out these acts believed they were doing God's will by murdering their victims.