PDA

View Full Version : single handed mast raising rig question

dobrosailor
07-27-2008, 07:32 PM
I just tried to step the mast on my 16 ft wood K boat with a 26ft spruce mast. Needless to say, it did not go well in the absence of help; thank goodnes its a solid mast, it seemed to fair the shock well. THere has to be an enlightened approach for single handed loners.

As an engineer, I can envision a rig placed in the deck to seat the foot of the mast, removable extensions for the standing rigging and a pulley on the bow going to the jib halyard...

Has this problem been solved, I am not a fan of the marines-on-bunker-hill style of stepping a mast and I will not use the boat much if its too much hassle. Not crazy about leaving it at a boatyard with the mast stepped.

CHeers,

M

johngsandusky
07-27-2008, 08:00 PM
Google it, or look on by the sea. I've seen drawings in books I'm sure. I used to do it alone on my Pennant, which had a mast about 26' also. She had a hinge at the base, so I'd pin it first. The mast lay forward, I'd run a line aft, through a block, back to the foredeck. Then I'd walk it up as high as I could, and pull on the line til it was up. The upper shrouds were attached first. This worked ok, but then tuning and bending on sail took a good 45 minutes. I only did it once a season, when I launched. Unrigging solo is tough, because the mast wants to sway, risking damage to itself or surroundings. Good luck. By the way, the line had better control from the middle of the mast, at spreaders, than it did if attached to the backstay.

TerryLL
07-27-2008, 08:18 PM
Flying Scot owners have devised a rig to aid mast raising.

Here's the link.

http://www.sailingtexas.com/Movies/FlyingScotMast/mastsystem.html

dobrosailor
07-27-2008, 08:47 PM
Thanks, but the issue here is that the mast is NOT deck stepped. The mast goes through the deck to a step on the keel 18 to 24" below. Check out the pic with the kid sitting on the deck.