View Full Version : Looking to Identify a CraigsList boat
This popped up on the Detroit Craigslist today.
http://detroit.craigslist.org/boa/766102479.html
http://images.craigslist.org/011613010311010400200807229d22418ffc0f0cbec700fb2b .jpg
Any idea what it is?
Captain Blight
07-23-2008, 01:42 PM
It looks blue to me.
Gary E
07-23-2008, 01:49 PM
Looking to Identify a CraigsList boat
It's Number 6... or 9 if they put the rag on downsideup
If I had wanted abuse I would have posted in the bilge! :p
Seriously, it looks like this could be pressed into service as a cheap tender. I was hoping that someone would recognize the logo on the sail and provide a little more info.
Gary E
07-23-2008, 02:38 PM
Your looking for CHEAP??...
so... your looking for "special brand" of CHEEEP?
sheesh you are CHEEP
betcha ya didnt even call the owner, did ya ?
Your looking for CHEAP??...
so... your looking for "special brand" of CHEEEP?
sheesh you are CHEEP
betcha ya didnt even call the owner, did ya ?
In the Craigslist ad, the owner himself says that he doesn't know the make/model of the boat in question.
It might be helpful to know this info, then the weight and capacity of the boat could be determined (if the specs were on-line).
And I might not be the one looking to purchase a tender...there might actually be other forumites who might find this post useful.
The really sad thing is that I KNEW that GARY E was an insignificant, mentally challenged blow-hard; still I took him off my ignore list because I thought that he might actually have something valuable to contribute. As you can see, I was wrong to believe that GARY E might possibly have any redeeming value.
So GARY E, welcome back to my Ignore List!
Of course, if any other forumites believe that Gary E has any redeeming value, please feel free to comment now.....
Thorne
07-23-2008, 03:06 PM
Now, now.
I've actually had folks look up sail insignia on this list, so there must be books showing same -- might be worth asking around at a sailmaker's shop or ?
The insignia looks a bit like a "U" with either an 8 or 9 below it -- that might help.
Yeadon
07-23-2008, 03:09 PM
This site might help.
http://www.avonsailboats.com/identify.html
Also, the vin number, if there is one, can help id the manufacturer.
Brian Palmer
07-24-2008, 07:55 AM
What ever it is, it looks like a pretty fair deal to me. Would be a lot of fun for a couple of kids learning to sail. There may be a capacity plate if it is a production boat.
Brian
bamamick
07-24-2008, 09:21 AM
Well, in all honesty it probably doesn't matter what it is. I can understand curiosity but it does look as if it would suit as a small tender. If you need one and the price is right then it looks like a decent boat.
Mickey Lake
Lew Barrett
07-24-2008, 09:47 AM
Looks like a good deal to me as well. For $375 you could hardly go wrong assuming it's in fair shape.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.1 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.