bottom boards and lapstrake adhesive/sealant?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tim in providence
    • Jun 2008

bottom boards and lapstrake adhesive/sealant?

so i'm building this swampscott dory from gardiner's book. it's my first real boat to be built using what i think is traditional techniques and wood. i've built two kayaks last year, but they were stitch and glue which i followed from another book. i'm basically self taught in all this, so i'm very blessed and grateful to have found this forum.

i'm using eastern white pine for both the bottom and strakes; everyting else is white oak. i've been very fortunate to have found a supplier which carries a lot of different species of wood at a moderate price.

i have three boards for the bottom and after joining them i place them side by side and attach the oak cleats. do i use any sort of adhesive or sealant at the seams to prevent leaking? i know the joint needs to be tight and all that but it seems that there should be something else.

the same goes for when i start applying the strake boards, which is also eastern white pine. i'm using the lapstrake method, but it seems that there sould be something at the seams when they lap over each other.
  • Captain Blight
    Banned
    • May 2008

Re: bottom boards and lapstrake adhesive/sealant?

I hear a lot of people discussing 3M 4200 or 5200 in applications like this. Maybe rout out a groove down the mating edge of each plank so you can get a little more of the sticky goo in there to act as a spline. When i built a dory a few years ago, that's what I did with 5200. The boat mostly lives on davits at dockside in Wisconsin, and (besides being way too heavy and leaking a bit on the second strake hood end on the port side) has been leak-free on the bottom for... what... holy cats, 9 years now.

I've been that long without a boat? Jeezums crow.

Comment

• Thorne
      Like my hat?
      • Aug 2005