PDA

View Full Version : Trying on shotguns...

Hughman
06-24-2008, 03:40 PM
...for fit. I've been making a nuisance of myself going around area gun purveyors trying on shotguns

I'm so long out of practice, 30 years out of practice, that I'm a newbie. I don't even know the vocabulary.

One seller says, "when you find it, you will know". So, that's what I have been searching for, ...."it"

I've tried Remington 870's, Mossburg 500's, 535's, Winchester 1200,'s 1400's, a Browning or two, and a gaggle of Chinese units. (I have a prejudice against Chinese tools, "guilty")

last week, I tried a Winchester 12. I think this is it. This gun said "just hold me", (Where have I heard that before?) These haven't been made since gas was .29 cents. I'm not even sure they're safe anymore.

Now, the price is a tad out of step with my pocket. But, it's good to know what it is one wants, even if it's not gonna happen.

and, my apologies for yet another gun thread, if this bothers you, stop now. :D;):p

paladin
06-24-2008, 03:44 PM
You could check out the Beretta's......a model 426 in used condition.....dunno the price...but just a replacement barrel set is over 2K......puts a wedgie in your shorts...

BrianW
06-24-2008, 03:51 PM
I might be mistaken, but the Winchester Model 12 was the shotgun favored by Peter Capstick, the African safari book author. In his stories (there is a consensus that most of his hunts took place in the pub) about leopard hunting he swore by the Model 12 due to the fact you could hold the trigger back after the first shot, and after that it would fire simply by racking the slide.

gary porter
06-24-2008, 04:27 PM
Some of the old JC Higgins , sold by Sears, would do the same thing.
They claimed they were faster than an automatic.
Gary

Bob Smalser
06-24-2008, 04:28 PM