PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw Help Needed

David McCollum
06-04-2008, 07:13 PM
I am having trouble with my bandsaw cutting straight. I am ripping white oak, something I have lots of experience with, but I have never had this much trouble. The blade seriously veers off, bending the blade and jamming the piece against the fence, and will stall it if I keep feeding.

At first I thought I had a dull blade, but a new blade does the same thing. These blades are a quarter inch wide, with 4 teeth per inch, supposedly okay for ripping, according to the package they came in.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Captain Blight
06-04-2008, 07:19 PM
If your tension is correct, guides etc. set correctly, check your tires. They may be collecting sawdust or may need a recrowning.

Dan McCosh
06-04-2008, 07:21 PM
I've had this problem when the blade isn't centered on the wheels, which sets it off on an angle.

Rob Hazard
06-04-2008, 07:45 PM
How thick is this oak you're ripping?

For any serious ripping, my saw is usually happier with a 1/2" blade.

pipefitter
06-04-2008, 07:52 PM
I usually suspect the blades when they come in a package. Typically blades from the big box stores come in blister packs and aren't worth the package they come in, name brand or not and they are usually very thin metal. I use Lenox blades, even though they may not be top of the line, they sure are durable for the $. I've had the same 6tpi x 1/4" blade in my saw since October cutting aluminum every day with it.