PDA

View Full Version : How to answer sloppy RFI's

David G
05-17-2008, 11:04 AM
An RFI is "Request For Information". Mark's recent thread about confusing a new fellow (who was just looking for information) by throwing in references to gronicles - raised an interesting side issue for me.

How does one deal with sloppy, and/or incomplete, and/or inadequately researched inquiries?

I'm relatively now to the forums, but I have 30+ years experience as a woodworker. Cabinetry, furniture, boats, architectural millwork, antique restoration, outdoor (gates, gazebos, pergolas) etc. I'm perfectly willing to share and show off my knowledge and experience - here, and on other forums. However... Sometimes (frequently?) the questioner will inadequately lay out the problem. If find that frustrating.

To some degree, part of needing help and advice is not knowing enough to know exactly what sort of help you need. Knowing how to frame the question is a big first step toward a solution, but requires some mix of knowledge, experience, and problem solving skills the asker may not possess.

With that in mind... sometimes I've spent a good bit of time formulating a set of questions to be answered in order to frame the inquiry so as to be answerable. Frequently, though, the asker doesn't take the time to respond to the list. Instead, they respond to the possible answers that others have subsequently put forth (and that aren't likely to be on target - except by sheer dumb luck - due to having such a hazy target to start with) by saying "yeah, but...". Now, eventually, that approach can narrow and focus the inquiry to the point of being productively answered. Sometimes, though, all parties just grow weary and drift off.