PDA

View Full Version : e-mailing newsletters

JMAC
02-17-2008, 09:49 AM
I'd like to send out an e-newsletter promoting my woodworking business every 6 months to folks on my mailing list. I have no experience in this sort of thing and don't have a proper mailing list either. Anybody have any experience with this?

George Roberts
02-17-2008, 10:30 AM
It is nicer to mail a short note with a link to your website newsletter.

Will your mail server allow such a large mailing?

(My wife used to mass e-mail a professional newsletter about 1000 addresses. She had to do it 200-250 at a time.)

Hwyl
02-17-2008, 10:47 AM
Norman, unusually for you, you did not read the post. It's about email.

Given what I know of your business JMAC, you should have already built an email list for yourself, and the emails had better have outstanding content, otherwise (it I was the recipient) I'd mark them as Spam.

Michael s/v Sannyasin
02-17-2008, 11:05 AM
I would second the comment about putting your newsletter up on your own website, then sending out only the link...

I manage the website for the Westsail Owners Association, and we used to send out this newsletter in PDF format to about 400-500 members quarterly. But, when the thing started to get image heavy, that meant we were sending out 4-5mb sized attachments!

For people on dial-up, this is killer... you might effectively kill their e-mail, as maybe their connection won't last long enough to download the attachment, and yet, every time it fails, it will try again.

In your e-mail notices, I would just have a little text reminding people who you are, maybe outline what is in that issue of the newsletter, and provide a link so that they can opt-out of being on your list.

JMAC
02-17-2008, 11:53 AM
The Yellow Rose
Petros Guitars’ 35th Anniversary Limited Edition Guitar is Done!

The Yellow Rose is the culmination of 35 years of progressively creative guitar building experience and the collaborative efforts of good friends.