PDA

View Full Version : Bolger designs - plank on frame?

seb
12-19-2003, 09:13 AM
Dear forum users,

I am rather new to the whole topic of boat building and design - and looking arround at different type of boats, I realised that I do like the square type designs by Bolger (and other similar ones). What I do like about them is the simplicity of lines, rugged look (and behaviour I hope), the flat bottom and the (apparent) simplicity of construction. However, I prefer traditional plank on frame construction methods - so, I was wondering - is it possible to build these type of boats in carvel construction? - as, say, some old fashion dutch style boats, or old scows, skiffs etc. Can these designs be built in carvel straight from the existing plans, or they would need serious adaptiation (e.g. beyond the means of a beginner). Are there any people who have attempted something like this already? Are there any similar designs (old or new) which have been drawn specifically for plank on frame? To be more precise, I am refering to boats such as Micro, AF2 (by Michalak) and similar types of hull.

I know my post is rather vague, and that there are a large number of variables - such as the expertise of the builder, what the boat is to be used for, the type of timber to be used and others - but any oppinions or guidance in this direction is much appreciated.

Many thanks for taking the time to read my post, and possibly to reply,

Seb

Bruce Hooke
12-19-2003, 09:28 AM
My brief take is that the designs you are looking at derive a lot of their simplicity from being built out of plywood, so a direct conversion of these designs to plank-on-frame would either require major changes in the design or result in a very difficult to build boat, or both.