PDA

View Full Version : Dry Ice Blasting.....

john111
01-03-2008, 06:54 AM
Hi everyone. I am an engineering student. I read something called dry ice blasting and hazardous waste disposal while browsing net. Well I donít know why, but I am curious to know about it. I know about traditional labor intensive methods like scrapers, wire brushes, sand blasting and pressure washing. I know dry ice is basically solid form of CO2, but I have no clue about this dry ice blasting and industrial cleaning .
Can somebody throw some light on this or at least suggest some site where I can find some info on this.

Sam.

The Bigfella
01-03-2008, 07:01 AM
I've seen it somewhere - try google. The site I saw wasn't very good.

George Roberts
01-03-2008, 09:51 AM
Google has lots of information.

Just don't buy the pellets on line.

bloggs68
01-04-2008, 06:01 AM
Sam,

we have a bloke here locally that is doing it and he is going to be blasting a 50 year old clinker dinghy next week. I am going out to look to see how it goes as I have a clients boat in the shed at he moment with 40+ years of paint and varnish that need to come off for a total re-fit. The interior of these little boats is so labour intensive. The guy reckons and hour to strip the entire 12' boat inside and out!

I'll post how it goes,

here is some info I found on the net
http://www.coldjet.com.au/indust_app.html#wood

regards,

AD

PaulC
01-04-2008, 10:03 PM
One of the advantages of dry ice blasting is from the disposal perspective. The waste you are getting rid of only contains the material that was removed and not the abrasive. This can save dollars since the overall volume to be disposed of is less. Its nice to have an abrasive that vaporizes!

Nordicthug
01-04-2008, 11:43 PM