PDA

View Full Version : Insurance Questions

clancy
09-12-2007, 08:54 PM
More specifically my questions concern certificates of insurance. I have been given the task in work of issuing them to our customers. I have to request the certificates online through an intranet link and the help pages are anything but; it seems that they were written by someone with the intent of confusing me further.

Are they used to prove to our customers that we have liability, workers comp and auto insurance? What is an umbrella policy? The one thing that has me most confused are additional insureds. Why does the customer add other companies as additional insureds to the certificate?

Bruce Hooke
09-12-2007, 10:02 PM
I am no expert in this, but my understanding is that a certificate of insurance proves that you have insurance, which particular kind of insurance depends on the situation and should be listed on the certificate, I would presume.

I think an umbrella policy is a general liability policy, but I am not sure about that.

Additional insureds are, as I understand it, other entities that are being explicitly covered by your insurance policy, so if a lawsuit is filed both you and the additional insured you will both be covered. Presumably this coverage is limited to the situation that brings you and the other company together. For example, if I get insurance to cover an event I am holding, the site where I am holding the event might insist that they be listed as an additional insured, so if someone gets hurt at the event then the insurance I purchased will cover claims against both me and the owners of the space, however, it would not provide any coverage to the owners of the space if someone sues them over something that happened at an event someone else is holding in their space a week later.

The Bigfella
09-12-2007, 10:12 PM
or if I lease you a computer, you have it covered under your insurance

Gary E
09-13-2007, 03:23 PM