PDA

View Full Version : Epoxy Consumption

Beowolf
05-28-2002, 06:33 AM
Hey guys,

I've begun sheathing the hull. I planned on using one layer of 4 oz xynole and one layer of 4 oz dynel. I've noticed so far that a "6 pump" (med. pumps) batch of epoxy yields only about 2 sq. ft of coverage. Is this normal?

Thanks in advance.

Jeff.

Wayne Jeffers
05-28-2002, 08:58 AM
Jeff,

I've always used graduated cups and (now) scales for measuring epoxy, and used glass cloth in the 6 to 7.5 oz. range, so I have no experience with pumps or lightweight fabric. Assuming even half an ounce per pump stroke, it seems to me you should be getting much greater coverage with lightweight fabric.

Remember, you should be using a low-viscosity (watery) epoxy for sheathing. It will saturate the fabric easier than a thick formulation and go further, too.

Wayne

Beowolf
05-28-2002, 10:22 AM
Thanks Wayne.

I'm using unthickened WEST epoxy. It seems awfully watery.

Jeff.

mariner2k
05-28-2002, 05:37 PM
Iv,e been doing a little epoxying myself lately. I used sys 3. with 6 oz. fiberglass. I also used cups instead of pumps, though I'm quite familiar with west. As far as coverage, someone suggested using a rubber squeegee to spread it. It worked great. The stuff went a lot farther than I thought. I don't really know the exact square footage but I was definately pleased with the coverage. Another thing I learned(the hard way) is be exact with the measurements and mix,mix,mix.
mariner

Wild Wassa
05-28-2002, 07:08 PM
Beowolf, Caster of lead. What volume are you mixing? This will give a good indication as to whether your usage is light, heavy or overly heavy. Do you feel it's overly heavy? Do you have data sheets with coverage figures? Or is it the repetition of mixing that's giving you the irrits?