PDA

View Full Version : A place to build and get started.

charlesparmele
05-10-2007, 12:46 AM
Hello my name is Charles Parmele. I am a disabled vet and live in an RV park located in Poulsbo, Wa. I very much would love to build a small boat, maybe a canoe or something car toppable. An RV park is not exactly the place to build. I would love to find a place to build and learn. I am on disability and would love to learn something new to do as a hobby or trade.
Any advice would be welcome. Need to find resources.
Charles "Chuck" Parmele

Spokaloo
05-10-2007, 02:43 AM
Chuck, if you made your way to the eastside I could always use an extra set of hands and you could poke together a canoe or jonboat.

Im over in Spokane.

E

Steve Lansdowne
05-12-2007, 02:28 PM
Some small boats have been built in living rooms and outside under cover, such as a tarp, and if you go for a pre-cut wood kit boat, such as a kayak or other small boat from CLC or Pygmy boats (the latter is a WA firm) you are only talking about assembly, gluing, sanding, and painting. You might check into the Center for Wooden Boats in Seattle, as they may have classes or get you started on what you're looking for. Best of luck to you.

S.V. Airlie
05-12-2007, 03:12 PM
Chuck.. this is a rhetorical question.. disabled.. How well can you get around?
I'm just thinking here.. I'm just wondering whether, if you are say near Seatle, there might be a boat building school or a club or a group that does build boats and you can sort of slide in. But it depends on whether you can travel under your own steam and how difficult it is to do so.
Not meant to be personal or insulting.. etc.... Just trying to look at this issue/request from various sides.

oops.. you did say where you were after carefully reading your post. I have no idea where that town is located though..Sorry...

paladin
05-12-2007, 05:01 PM
Chuck....welcome to the forum..from another Chuck......

charlesparmele
05-12-2007, 10:05 PM