PDA

View Full Version : Next Iraq move

ishmael
05-08-2007, 06:46 PM
There are interesting thinkers here, including some with military experience. I'd like to hear their suggestions. It's clearly a cluster **** the way it's going, and no one with half a brain thinks this "surge" is going to fix it.

I was an initial supporter based on the propaganda fed, but now I see it as a huge blunder. What's next? We've got to pick up and move on. It's a swamp without a drain. Okay, so what's next?

My thought is to draw back to our allies, the Kurds, perhaps the Kuwaitis, and simply let this fire burn itself out. It's going to anyway, and there's no reason our young men and women should be in the middle of it. But I'm no expert, and not a very good strategist, so I'd like to hear from those who are.

John of Phoenix
05-08-2007, 06:58 PM
My thought is to draw back to our allies, the Kurds, perhaps the Kuwaitis, and simply let this fire burn itself out.
Then go back in?

ishmael
05-08-2007, 07:09 PM
John,

Be ready to in order to counteract terrorist cells, when needed. Yes. But I'm not clear. I want some people who think in these ways to propose ideas. I think it would be a mistake to completely abandon the region.

What are your thoughts? We're there now. It's going to be, is, a horrific tragedy. But here we sit.

John of Phoenix
05-08-2007, 07:22 PM
I'm tied up 'til tomorrow. I'll get back to you though.

John A. Campbell
05-08-2007, 08:20 PM
I've had no military experience so I'm really not qualified to make a comment from that standpoint but I do have one question: What is the measure of a "win" in Iraq?

Vince Brennan
05-08-2007, 09:08 PM
Oh, hell, people... the answer is the same one we've used for the last fifty years.... start another war.

Invade Iran.

Invade North Korea.

Wait... you can sneer and scoff all you want to, but one of those two is coming up, and pretty damn fast.... immediately followed by our emulation of theSoviet Union's financial disaster...