PDA

View Full Version : WW2 buffs.

pipefitter
04-30-2007, 11:56 PM
I studied quite a bit on the subject in school, as one of the more interesting topics of history class and figured the major battles that were depicted to be the biggest and most significant and that to be pretty much it in a nutshell. I had the whole collection of American Heritage collection of books etc. and they pretty much covered the same as the history books in school with a bit more detail,possibly. My old buddy Mr.Whillock,A WW2 veteran and survivor of the Battle of the Bulge used to talk at great lengths of his times overseas. Wasn't until recently that I had heard talk of the Hurtgen Forest or Hill 400. Was this such a widely known battle? I didn't find any topics or mention of it in the forum search, figuring you guys have possibly touched on every topic of the world by now for sure. If nothing else, to know that this battle was fought primarily by highschool kids with little technical combat training,the casualty numbers speaking for itself and other than the embarrassment factor of bad command calls,I can't imagine why this is not as well known as the other major European battles of WW2.

http://www.5ad.org/hurtgen_joe.htm

I would have liked to have known about this as it seems to be one point that left out some perspective as to how I viewed the war growing up.

The Bigfella
05-01-2007, 01:30 AM
We have a distorted view of what the big battles were. The big ones actually occured on the Eastern Front.

stevebaby
05-01-2007, 05:55 AM
The Battle of Kursk, check out the number of tanks and casualties.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Kursk
Battle of Kursk - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

IIRC, 50%+ of the Japanese Army was tied up in China throughout the Pacific War.
But nobody made movies about it, so they are unknown in the West.

The Bigfella
05-01-2007, 06:01 AM
IIRC, 50%+ of the Japanese Army was tied up in China throughout the Pacific War.