PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Prod CD/DVD drive problem



peb
04-06-2007, 11:14 AM
Ok, I know I get flamed everytime I post about problems I have with my MaxBook, but I do need a little help, so here goes.


Everything I put in the CD/DVD drive gets ejected after about 154-30 seconds. Blank CDs, blank DVDs, movie DVD, data CD, music CD, does not matter. Can't run HW test because, as far as I know, you have to run it off the CD, and of course it ejects that also.

Any ideas short of getting a new drive installed.

elf
04-06-2007, 11:44 AM
Got AppleCare?

elf
04-06-2007, 11:46 AM
join the Mac-L

peb
04-06-2007, 12:00 PM
No, I don't have apple care, never need to purchase any extended service contract before.

is mac-l the macintosh forum on the mac support page?

George Roberts
04-06-2007, 12:22 PM
External CD drive?

elf
04-06-2007, 12:26 PM
Oh, I'm so sorry. I meant to add the url for the Mac-L. No, it's separate. Bunch of real smart Mac users. Try this. You'll get an answer in 3 hours probably. It's a very active list.

http://www.listmoms.net/lists/mac-l/

Nicholas Carey
04-06-2007, 01:42 PM
Sounds like a dead CD/DVD drive to me. Got an Apple Store near you? Might be time for a trip to the Genius Bar (http://www.apple.com/retail/geniusbar/) (you'll need to make an appointment first):

[edited to note: the price -- $0.00 -- is hard to beat :D]

Texas
Austin, Barton Creek (http://www.apple.com/retail/bartoncreek/)
Austin, The Domain (http://www.apple.com/retail/thedomain/)
Dallas, NorthPark Center (http://www.apple.com/retail/northparkcenter/)
Highland Park, Knox Street (http://www.apple.com/retail/knoxstreet/)
Houston, Houston Galleria (http://www.apple.com/retail/houstongalleria/)
Houston, Memorial City (http://www.apple.com/retail/memorialcity/)
Plano, Willow Bend (http://www.apple.com/retail/willowbend/)
San Antonio, La Cantera (http://www.apple.com/retail/lacantera/)
Southlake, Southlake Town Square (http://www.apple.com/retail/southlaketownsquare/)
Sugar Land, First Colony Mall (http://www.apple.com/retail/firstcolonymall/)
The Woodlands, The Woodlands (http://www.apple.com/retail/thewoodlands/)