PDA

View Full Version : Lofting short cuts

DRB
09-25-2006, 09:17 AM
I am an amature builder. I have built a couple of small boats that did not require lofting. I think that I have conviced myself that for my next project I am going to build John Gardners 16' semi Dory that will require lofting. I don't have a wood floor and I don't have very much room to work, (17 x 24) shop. I am looking for short cuts to the lofting process. Is it feasable to loft to 1/4 or 1/2 scale to insure fairness of the hull? Is there an inexpensive (simple to operate) software program that could be used to check demensions for fairness on a simple hull like this, or is lofting to full scale the only way to go? Thanks, Doug

donald branscom
09-25-2006, 09:38 AM
I am an amature builder. I have built a couple of small boats that did not require lofting. I think that I have conviced myself that for my next project I am going to build John Gardners 16' semi Dory that will require lofting. I don't have a wood floor and I don't have very much room to work, (17 x 24) shop. I am looking for short cuts to the lofting process. Is it feasable to loft to 1/4 or 1/2 scale to insure fairness of the hull? Is there an inexpensive (simple to operate) software program that could be used to check demensions for fairness on a simple hull like this, or is lofting to full scale the only way to go? Thanks, Doug

I used to just dream about having a space to work. At all.

Bruce Hooke
09-25-2006, 09:43 AM
There are a couple of challenges with lofting at half scale:

1. You can't pick up shapes directly from the lofting floor. Part of the point of lofting is that it gives you the full size shapes for various parts. Sure you could take measurements and scale up, but its more work and another place for errors to creep in.

2. Any error is doubled. If your line is off by 1/4" on the lofting floor it will be off by 1/2" on the boat.