PDA

View Full Version : Reparing Bow and Stem on Lapstrake Runabout

Sabot
08-25-2006, 03:08 PM
This is my first post after lurking here for the past eight months. My background is the last wooden boat I rebuilt with my then 15 year old son, was a 29’ Dragon built in 1966 as a campaign boat for the ’68 Olympics. Then we towed from Vancouver to Toronto for the 1991 World Championships. I am working rebuilding a 1962, 20 ft Thompson lapstrake runabout to use in the Gulf Islands and am looking for some input on my current problem(s). Outside of operating whalers for my club during regattas and race committee work this is my first venture into a non-sailing boat.

Several ribs in the forward section have pulled away 1/2"” to 3/4” from the inner keel stem so that you can see the nails that had been driven in to hold the ends of the ribs. I then removed the outside oak stem from the bow down to where it is horizontal where a vertical bolt goes through to hold it up through the keel. I could then see light through the slot on both sides of the inner keel/stem.

On the web page listed below I have a series of photos inside and outside of the boat showing the condition of the ribs and hull.

www.accentart.ca/boat2.html

The reddish coloured glue/caulking material used originally simply crumbled away when I removed the outer bow stem. It appears that the hull strakes are simply fastened to the inner bow stem with copper nails, (not ring type) after a good bead(s) of the red caulking was applied to the stem. It does not appear that any screws were used to actually fasten the strakes to the inner bow stem, just nails.