PDA

View Full Version : Bigwin 66' all wood steamer

Jeff G
09-03-2002, 05:46 PM
Last April I mentioned our Historical Foundation was rebuilding a steamer. We are in the process of starting the job. I should add that we will use donated money which is tax deductible. Also we are receiving government grants. So cost is important in that we wish to use our money well but we dont need to worry about not having enough we want this boat to be preserved.

The construction is composite with steel stringers welded to a steel keel. The planks are cyprus and they are bolted to the steel frame with carriage bolts. My shipwright is used to smaller boats, Dukes, Gravettes, Sheppards etc. He is used to replacing planks by planning them to an even 1/000 gap and refastening them. I noticed however, and I am a rank amateur, that the old hull has larger gaps filled with oakum. Also I assume as we take apart the hull that we should only remove a few stringers at a time. How important would that be?

Any help would be appreciated. Also is there a way for me to attach digital images to this forum message?

Thanks Jeff

WWheeler
09-04-2002, 08:02 AM
Good news. Where's the rebuilding taking place? I spent a happy summer on Lake of Bays when I was young.

I'm a rank amateur too, but large planks such as used here need more play, due to water expansion. If the tolerances are too tight, the planks will buckle and pop right off the frames. As a comment, looks like your builder could use a hand. Perhaps someone from WoodWind yachts, there's also an experienced shipwright in Penetang, works for Discovery Harbour. (They've just completed rebuilding of the "Bee".)