PDA

View Full Version : Radio

ishmael
03-05-2006, 06:26 PM
I listen to radio a lot. I listen to NPR, as usually the most interesting, but I also listen late in sleepless nights to Art Bell and his ilk.

I've come to despise commercial radio, the hype, but occasionally Bell is worth sifting through the BS.

I'm also amazed at how ungrammatical much of the local broadcast is. It can be horrible. Not that I'm an expert at grammar, but I could write better copy. Young people who just never learned. It jars the ear.

Bell is usually pretty good. He's got the radio voice down, and is pretty smart with his guests. But gawd, the commercials! I don't like the commercials.

pcford
03-05-2006, 07:01 PM
Talking about listening to Art Bell?

And this guy called _me_ a wanker over on the Bush/Katrina thread.

Different strokes, I s'pose.

Meerkat
03-05-2006, 07:03 PM
People who listen to Art Bell are a little ding-a-ling. :D

Hwyl
03-05-2006, 07:11 PM
What meerkat should have posted.

Bell jars the ear

You're slipping David

ishmael
03-05-2006, 07:17 PM
Nah, Art's definately a showman, and his broadcast has way too much advertisement. It's hard to sort through. But he's smart, and, occasionally, has very good guests.

Last night, drifting in and out, there was a Brit MD, who has made a study of near death experience. Nothing new, but it was good to hear someone of place and presence speak about it.

And I only called people a wanker on the vroom vroom, too much power for the brains thread. ;)

[ 03-05-2006, 07:21 PM: Message edited by: ishmael ]

Meerkat
03-05-2006, 07:19 PM
He's clever, not smart. He plays to the prejudices of his audience.

skuthorp
03-05-2006, 07:21 PM