PDA

View Full Version : Motor probs.

dasboat
07-29-2001, 12:24 PM
Lost an engine last week and am stuck figureing it out.
I have no spark.
points are ok,rotor ok,all wire leads ok.
I suspect coil but dont want to lock on to a diagnosis without covering all possibilities.
I do want to check the coil,but other than holding the high tension wire(dist.cap end) close to a ground ,I am not sure how to do that.
I have a good volt/ohm meter.
Can someone give me the step by step for testing coils,and other suggestions for troubleshooting?
Regards,Dasboat

Bob Cleek
07-29-2001, 12:49 PM
I'm no engine expert, but you might start out by checking to see if the coil is burned out. Isolate the primary and secondary terminals and do a continuity check on both. Then do a cross-check between primary and secondary to check for a short between the two, which can occur if there's been a meltdown. As there are no moving parts, if the primary and secondary coils are intact, the coil should be good... right? I think...

dasboat
07-29-2001, 02:25 PM
Thanks Bob.
All wires off the - and + terminals.
check continuity(should read zero)between the coil output(high tension) and the - and + terminals??
I think i'm missing something,could you elaborate?
By the way,I tried to send you an e mail but it came back undeliverable.
Regards,Dasboat

Ed Harrow
07-29-2001, 07:32 PM
This sounds like liberal, left-wing sabotage. http://media5.hypernet.com/~dick/ubb/wink.gif. What have we been doing.

It's been so long... I remeber having a similar problem with a car with an electronic tach. Something, somewhere went POOF and the result was no spark. Now if recollection serves, when the primary field collapses, the secondary fires off, giving the spark. (This should be spelled out in Chapman's or in most any of your basic auto shop manuals).