PDA

View Full Version : Holding tank

WILLIAM E. HARRIS
08-08-2001, 10:15 PM
Many boats have problems with odiferous heads. I want to fabricate a custom holding tank of about 30 gallons for a wooden sailboat head. What materials and methods must be used to prevent odors from migrating thru? Anyone have experience with this?

dasboat
08-08-2001, 10:57 PM
William,I have some experience over in 40 yrs of boating,but never approached this subject real scientificly.I did experiment some,spent alot of money and concluded that odor is going to be a part of boating life.
The question for me becomes,how much odor.
First,review sites like the boating community,yacht survey.com(Pasco)is the pro.surveyor,and his site may have an article on this topic.Besides it is an excellent site.Pasco is very well informed.
Now,my own experience.The odor will migrate thru most hose walls,but the stuff made just for this purpose is really the best.Hose connections are the next biggest problem.
I solved most of this issue by making sure I used a longish piece of the heavy walled white water pipe as my connecting points for the hose.That way I could get lots of hose slid over the pipe,and with a material like boatlife as a sealant between the hose and the pipe,I achieved a pretty gas/odor tight seal.
Containers.I have had all kinds,and the bladder is the worst,while the very thick poly type stuff was the best.If I were going to build one,I would probably build the box of thick material and encapsalate it in glass cloth and resin.This last part is a pure guess.
There is a guy on the forum called chemist who along with his experience may be able to provide some of the chemestry that will explain why certain materials will or will not do the job.
Gluck
Dasboat

[This message has been edited by dasboat (edited 08-08-2001).]

David Ray
08-08-2001, 11:09 PM