PDA

View Full Version : Capstan diamter

rbprice
05-27-2003, 08:06 AM
I need some help in sizing the diamter of the capstan for the rudder cables of a 16 ft. tunnel boat. It will take about 9 inches of cable movement to turn the rudder to 60 degrees from center (max) Should the capstan diameter be such that the circumference is more or less than 9 inches?

Seems to me (a complete novice) that if the wheel makes less than one turn to move the rudder full stroke in either direction, the wheel would be too sensitive. On the other hand, if the one has to turn the wheel 1.5 turns to bring the rudder full stroke, one could spend all day trying to make a quick turn.

Your comments and suggestions are earnestly solicited.

Thanks

Bob Price

videoguy
05-29-2003, 01:08 AM
Bob I don't know if this will help or not but most of the cable steering systems I see are 3 1/2 turns. .......Phil

rbprice
05-29-2003, 08:04 AM
Thanks for the response Phil but 3 1/2 turns on a 10 inch diameter vs a 3.00 inch diameter is the real question since the cable movement is a function of the capstan diameter.

And for that matter so is the torque required to turn the wheel. The smaller the capstan diameter vs. the wheel diameter, the easier it will be to turn the wheel. In my case that is not an issue since this boat will not be moving that fast. :^|

Cheers

Bob Price

Del Lansing
05-29-2003, 08:18 AM
If I understand correctly you need 9 inches of cable motion from center to hard left (or right)so the total would be 18 inches hard left to hard right? if that is correct and you wanted 3 turns for full swing, the capstan would have a circumferance (sp?)of 6 inches. Divide that 6 inches by Pi (3.14) to get the diameter of the capstan. 1.9 inches would be the result for those conditions. Hope that helps.

rbprice
05-29-2003, 08:24 PM
Del - are you suggesting that 3 turns of the wheel is a reasonable thing to go from full left to full right on the rudder?