PDA

View Full Version : "The Last Voyage"

cs
11-26-2002, 07:48 AM
I had posted a question a while back asking if anyone had heard of the this book called "The Last Voyage...The Story of Schooner Third Sea" by: Harold Stephens.

Here is a line in the introduction that caught my eye. '"There's a magnificent world out there for anyone who wants it," he would whisper to me and go on doing what he sets out to do."

I'm just getting into this book and in fact he is just finished outfitting it Bangkok and is headed out on his adventures.

This book is about a man who had a dream. He was greatly influenced by the writings of Jack London and wished to build his own boat and see the world. With the attitude that is hinted at in the above quote he sets out to accomplish his dream and he lives it for 18 years untill at last the "Third Sea" is wrecked on a reef on the Hawaiian Islands during a freak hurricane.

He built the "Third Sea" in Singapoore and outfitted her in Bangkok. She was 71 feet long and made from ferro-cement. Most of the labour was supplied by the author and volunteers.

So far this is a great book and I highly recomend it.

Chad

cs
11-27-2002, 10:02 AM
I'm going to bring this back up. The author makes references to others in his book and I would like opinions please.

First one of his main inspirations was a book by Jack London called "The Cruise of the Snark". Has anyone read this and is it worthwhile?

Second he goes about the South Seas and try to look up people mentioned by a fella named Michener in a book he wrote called "Return to Paradise". What about this book?

Chad

ishmael
11-27-2002, 10:18 AM
Chad,

I've read the London book, years ago. Some of the biographies of London are fascinating, "A Sailor on Horseback" comes to mind.