PDA

View Full Version : The Christmas Spirt

Sam F
12-09-2002, 10:05 AM
Some of you might like this article from last Sunday's Washington Post:

From Two Faiths, Many Gifts
Sunday, December 8, 2002; Page B08

As millions of Christians around the world began celebrating the Christmas season, millions of Muslims were preparing for this weekend's Eid al-Fitr feasts, which mark the end of Ramadan.

I was doing both.

From age 3 until age 10, I was a student at the University of Islam, a local school for children of the Nation of Islam. There I was taught that Christmas was a pagan holiday and that Santa Claus was a lie that Christian parents told their children to bribe them into behaving well. My teachers also said that Christmas was something the white man cooked up for profit -- at the expense of poor African Americans.

I never bought into these ideas, although my mother did. But because she had been raised a Baptist, my mother couldn't resist sharing some of her Christmas pleasures from childhood with her own children.

When my mother was little she had loved going downtown to see the animated scenes in the department store windows, so when we were old enough to appreciate them, she herded us across town to "ooh" and "ahh" at the lifesize, mechanical dolls. I loved the fake snow that tumbled off the roof as Santa and his sleigh and reindeer landed, and the scene in which Mrs. Claus, with her painted-on smile, turned from side to side holding a tray of cookies for the elves.

Those pilgrimages downtown were my mother's gift of tradition.

My father had been raised in the Nation of Islam. He didn't have any Christmas joy as a child, but he didn't want to deny his children the bounty that they saw all around them at this time of year. So he found ways to justify buying us toys. My older brother's birthday is Dec. 23, so Dad would buy all of us presents in honor of brother's big day. One year Dad took us to a store and let us fill a cart with toys.