PDA

View Full Version : Computer power supply?



Jim H
02-17-2003, 01:08 PM
I have the old PB computer, that the Dell replaced, at home. I went to turn it on yesterday and nothing happened, no lights, no whirring sounds not even the fan was running. I know it had power, the printer & monitor were on and I checked the power cord connection. Is this what happens when your power supply quits?

Thanks,

Jim

WBW
02-17-2003, 01:45 PM
That's what happens.
I've had the same experience.
Replacements are available, but on an old one like that it may not be worth the expense or bother.
Good luck with it!

Jim H
02-17-2003, 01:46 PM
Thanks, I'll look into it.

Jim

Art Read
02-17-2003, 02:29 PM
I just went thru the same drill... Found a replacement power supply for about $25. A new "mini-tower" case with power supply was about $30 And it was a "cool" new design in black. Just make sure the form factor for the motherboard is compatible with the new case.

Meerkat
02-17-2003, 02:33 PM
When mine went bad, I was able to find a used PS very inexpensively at a used computer store - maybe under "electronics-surplus" or something like that in the phone book?

Have you verified that something else works in the same wall socket and there are no power strips, extension cords etc. that could be bad along the way from the wall to the computer?

[ 02-17-2003, 02:34 PM: Message edited by: Meerkat ]

Art Read
02-17-2003, 02:35 PM
Meerkat... "RE-PC"? ;) Fun place, eh?

[ 02-17-2003, 02:36 PM: Message edited by: Art Read ]

Rocky
02-17-2003, 03:05 PM
If the CPU or the motherboard is shorted out you'll get no power on.

Meerkat
02-17-2003, 03:11 PM
Originally posted by Art Read:
Meerkat... "RE-PC"? ;) Fun place, eh?Yup, I think that was the name of the place - S. of the Stadiums in the industrial district. I think it was $5.

Rocky
02-17-2003, 03:17 PM
PS's are a dime a dozen on eBay. Newer CPUs require more wattage than the old ones. If you install a new CPU that requires more wattage than you have you'll get no start, DOA.