PDA

View Full Version : Tips for a Rook

Dry Illini
05-01-2003, 12:07 PM
Hey All, I'm a first time boat builder, but have alwasy had a great facisnation w/ wooden boatbuilding. I'm starting small, and working my way up. I just got my SD11 plans from Bateau.com, but as you could probably imagine, Central Illinois is not a hotbed for boatbuilding or boatbuilding materials. I contacted Mike Kiefer (helluva guy) of Great Lakes Boatbuilding and he mentioned MDO plywood on my first few smaller boats, and then moving on to marine ply as I "hopefully" grow in skill and experience. This is because MDO is a lot easier to get my hands on around here, and since I'm a rook, its alot cheaper, and in the rare chance(ha ha) of an error or miscalculation it won't set me back too much. Have any of you guys used it before? I was hoping to get some pro/con info. on the stuff. Any thoughts? I don't want to cut any corners but at the same time, being a young fella means that the ole' savings account at this point isn't what it hopefully will be some day. I'm pretty green but also willing, and from what I've read here in the past, you guys know your stuff. Hoping you good folks could help a first timer out. Also any random first timer does and don'ts would be much abliged.
Thanks a million!
DI

Dave Fleming
05-01-2003, 12:19 PM
MDO:
Medium
Density
Overlay

aka Painters sign board aka puke green ply.

Was good stuff all solid plys used for bulkheads and exterior cabin sides to be painted. The grain of the underlying ply usually Doug Fir was covered so it eliminated the checking and grain shadows of plain Doug Fir marine ply.
Should be fine for a first effort. Probably a bit heavier than some of the more commonly used plys ie:Okume but, for a small craft not a big worry.
I picked up a damaged* sheet of 1/2 inch with solid interior plys of some wood I have yet to determine for $20 USD yesterday down here in San Diego.

*Damaged in that the green overlay was dirty. Big deal, or so says I.