PDA

View Full Version : Western Washingtonians

Meerkat
03-01-2002, 07:25 PM
Greetings and Salutations.

I'm just starting out to build my first boat which is going to be stitch and glue design called a Medway Doble 15 by Paul Fisher (Selway-Fisher Designs).

I had no idea there where so many people in the Puget Sound area that where into building wooden boats. I sort of thought "Woodenboat" was for the goldplater New England crowd.

Anyway, I'm sure I'm going to have lots of questions from tools to techniques, and I hope you all can give good advice!

My first problem is where to find the space to build a 15' x 4'7" boat! Any suggestions?

mmd
03-01-2002, 08:22 PM
... the living room?

videoguy
03-01-2002, 08:39 PM
I know a guy that did that then cut a hole in the wall took out the boat and put in a bay window.He got a boat his wife got her window .and lived happly ever after.I built a 20 footer in my grarage,if you dont have one ,you could try building in the backyard the boat would be easy to cover with a tarp when you're not working on it . good luck , start building.

PugetSound
03-01-2002, 09:19 PM
I know a guy who was in the process of redecorating/expanding his home; he and his wife were living in a downstairs bedroom. Apparently she hardly noticed that the second floor master suite was taking a bit longer to finish than she'd expected. He launched his boat out of the unfinished upstairs bedroom (he'd even lofted the boat right onto the wood subfloor) and then proceeded to finish the bedroom. :cool:

Meerkat,
How long have you been in the Northwest? On the Seattle side of the water, you have the Wooden Boat Center (south end of Lake Union) complete with livery. On the west side of Puget Sound, you have the Port Townsend Wooden Boat Show (first weekend after Labor Day). If you have not been to the Wooden Boat show, then you owe it to yourself to get there. ;)

Meerkat
03-01-2002, 09:26 PM