PDA

View Full Version : Canoeing, how many miles a day?

cs
02-12-2004, 10:23 AM
As I get closer and closer to finishing my canoe I'm starting to think about day trips, just me and my canoe and maybe some friends if they want.

Now being as I'm still learning how to canoe, I've no idea how far one can expect to go in a days travel without rushing or forcing the issue.

Around here there are creeks that wind in and out and through different areas of town and it would be interesting to put in at one end and take the senic route through town.

Chad

Popeye
02-12-2004, 10:44 AM
50 miles.

with a headwind ... -0.5 miles.

Joe Dupere
02-12-2004, 11:04 AM
Hey Chad, it doesn't look like my emails are getting through. Check your private messages. I don't know why I didn't think to try that first
anyway.

Joe

alteran
02-12-2004, 11:16 AM
Well thats kind of like asking how far can you drive in a day. City traffic or across Montana? 4 hour day or 10?

Assuming no current and no portaging, with no kids and lazy paddling, 2-3 miles an hour is about what I suppose we do. But there are so many variables......

Ken Hutchins
02-12-2004, 11:23 AM