PDA

View Full Version : a computer question



John B
04-16-2003, 12:42 AM
Might as well ask here. so much knowledge.

I see some of you are able to make a link to an URL and change that URL to be something like "here". How do you do that?

What I want to do is put a small image .. a gif which will work as a link directly to a site. Same thing?

R.I.Singer30
04-16-2003, 01:43 AM
I'm not exactly sure what it is that you want ,I'm a novice at this.Posting pictures requires going through imagestation.com (try hitting the search and ask for pic posting, there was one two days ago).If I want to copy a web link I've been using the right click on copy then paiste it in my dialogue.Hopefully someone with more expertise will come along such as Donn or Shane they can make there posting do tricks.BOL Dan L

Meerkat
04-16-2003, 01:49 AM
John; To do what you want, click on the "url" link below the edit window where you add a new post.

The first dialog box asks for is the http... url.

The second dialog box asks for some bit of text that is what will be shown instead of the actual http... url. If you put a url that points to an image in this second entry field, put </font><blockquote>code:</font><hr /><pre style="font-size:x-small; font-family: fixed;"> ... </pre>[/QUOTE]tags around it. This will _probably_ do the trick, but only if the forum software looks for the image tags in the text portion of the link. Otherwise, get back to me and I'll see if I can think of another alternative method.

If you want to do this on a personal webpage away from the forum, it's done this way:
</font><blockquote>code:</font><hr /><pre style="font-size:x-small; font-family: fixed;">

&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.domain.com/somelink.html&quot;&gt;
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.domain.com/someimage.jpg&quot;&gt;&lt;/a&gt;</pre>[/QUOTE]NOTE that the img tag is completely surrounded by the &lt;a...&gt; begin tag and &lt;/a&gt; end tag of the link. When you do this, the image is displayed (with a thin, typically blue, border around it. When clicked, it will take you through to the link it's "covering". (NB: there is a way to remove the thin border. Ask if you need this.)

[ 04-16-2003, 01:55 AM: Message edited by: Meerkat ]

John B
04-16-2003, 02:09 AM
Ok.. so if I do an imagestation link on the forum it can be.....

Classics regatta 2003 (http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?show_all=1&start=1&id=4290693591)

OOO cool. That's one down.

It's actually the other I actually want so I'll try that code out. It's just a logo I want to use on a web page and in emails.

thanks.

[ 04-16-2003, 02:11 AM: Message edited by: John B ]

Dave R
04-16-2003, 08:31 AM
Hey! Good job and great pics.

R.I.Singer30
04-17-2003, 12:10 AM
Or meerkat

Meerkat
04-17-2003, 01:57 AM
You're welcome John. Glad to be of help. smile.gif