PDA

View Full Version : double sawn bed

centroid
08-26-2003, 08:46 AM
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid76/pc170dfd44d1620efa824da21520a5958/fb469556.jpg.orig.jpg

its not a boat but i'm trying out some the double sawn techniques for the boat frames on the bed. for my lyle hess cutter (24') i was thinking about doing double sawn frames but i've never done it before. so i made a bed with the head board. i tried to follow all the step from making a template for the curves to copper rivets.
i'm quite happy with the results ! the bed is african ribbon mahogany. the boat frames....not sure yet. thinking about black locust but i heard its so difficult to work with and its harder to find.

Chadd Hamilton
08-26-2003, 01:43 PM
Very cool...I like it!

Venchka
08-26-2003, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by centroid:
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid76/pc170dfd44d1620efa824da21520a5958/fb469556.jpg

...thinking about black locust but i heard its so difficult to work with and its harder to find.Finding black locust isn't a problem. I found lots of it. Finding it a reasonable distance from the boat building site...well now, there's the rub. If you buy a large quantity the shipping may not be too bad. As for it's working qualities, I don't know for sure. A lot of it finds it's way into boats. I doubt that it is any more difficult to work than any similar woods with equal density and hardness. The finished product sure is nice.

Nice work on the bed.

Did you sort out the building dimensions?

centroid
08-26-2003, 02:54 PM
“Did you sort out the building dimensions?”

you mean my door issue for bringing the boat out after its built ? sort of…. I bought a house which I will close the end of sept. there is a two car garage that I would like to squeeze a boat in there some where. Its not big enough by preference but I will have to make it work. I’ll try to modify the door to have 11’ clear for the boat to exit.