PDA

View Full Version : How do I remove 7 zillion coats of Paint

cturner
08-09-2001, 07:41 PM
Hello everyone!

I am new at boat building and restoration so please be patient with my questions. I was fortunate enough to be handed down an orginal 1920's plank punt/small dory. There are multiple layers of paint under the sound planks. what is the best method for removing all of this paint because I may varnish it or even paint it again. Any assistance would be appreciated..

Regards
chris Turner
Nova Scotia, Canada

Bob Cleek
08-09-2001, 08:19 PM
A heat gun and a sharp scraper.

Ed Harrow
08-09-2001, 08:50 PM
What Bob said. Careful of the fumes, however, and don't get the wood so hot that you scorch it.

norske
08-09-2001, 09:00 PM
A blow torch and a fire hose http://media5.hypernet.com/~dick/ubb/biggrin.gif Hold your breath, the fumes can kill.

Seriously, I found a heating iron(one that stands off the surface about 1/4 inch and has a heat shield) and scraper lifted all the layers in one pass and the fumes were less than what you get from a heat gun which burns easily if your not right on it, moving along. http://media5.hypernet.com/~dick/ubb/smile.gif

[This message has been edited by norske (edited 08-09-2001).]

dasboat
08-09-2001, 09:24 PM
Addition to cleeks direct yet incomplete answer.
Heat gun,sharp scraper,AND,some one to bring you lots of beverages and sandwiches of your choice. http://media5.hypernet.com/~dick/ubb/biggrin.gif
It takes time and some muscle but the results are good when you use heat and a scraper.
Das

Scott Rosen
08-09-2001, 11:12 PM