PDA

View Full Version : Advice on ocean-crossing pocket cruisers

BiggieSmallBoat
03-28-2019, 09:53 AM
For the past few years, I've lived and sailed on an old 27' GRP boat full-time, covering thousands of miles offshore. For a variety of reasons, though, I will have to sell this boat soon, and return to land.

I am now dreaming of a future journey that would begin by building a pocket cruiser, something in the 20-24' range, and taking it across the Pacific.

Though I have plenty of sailing and liveaboard experience, along with all the maintenance that comes with that, I have no boat-building experience and am looking for some advice. I welcome the challenge and commitment of such a project, and that, once completed, I will know the boat intimately, every facet, nook and cranny. That has been a problem for me on my current boat -- too many surprises, and the struggle of learning how to fix them on the fly, far from resources, without the right experience.

I'd like to build a medium-to-heavy displacement full or long-keel boat for safety and stability. Aesthetically, I'm a big fan of two-mast configurations, but on such a small boat that might be impractical. I also like double-enders for their looks, but am very aware of their practical limitations and the difficult of mounting stern hardware like a windvane.

A few designs that I am aware of, that have caught my eye, include:
- Amigo 22
- Spray 22
- Welsford Sundowner

I think I'd like a design I could strip plank and glass-over, but correct me if I'm wrong on that front. I would also build a tender using the same technique, first, before even thinking of tackling the actual project.

Any advice, or plan suggestions are much-welcomed.

Dale Gamble
03-28-2019, 10:19 AM