PDA

View Full Version : kirby's paint: low luster vs. semi-gloss, vs. gloss

runswithsizzers
10-28-2018, 10:58 AM
I am ready to order paint for my new construction of Steve Redmond's 15-1/2 ft sharpie skiff - Whisp.

My build is a cut above quick-and-dirty, but falls short of Bristol fashion. It's nice, but not precious. I plan to use it without worring too much about whatever normal scuffs, scratches and dings may result.

All the hull planking will be painted inside and out - but the seats, deck, and transom (all cherry), and the gunnels (sassafras) wil be varnished. I will be using CEPS for primer over bare wood.

My first thought was low luster paint for the interior and semi-gloss for the exterior, but maybe it would be better to go will semi-gloss interior and full gloss for the exterior?

I have never used any George Kirby's paint before, so I don't know what to expect. Does anyone know if the paint chips on his "Vintage Colors" chart are semi-gloss or gloss? Is his low luster dead flat, chalkboard dull? Will gloss paint accentuate every flaw and blemish?

https://photos.smugmug.com/Whats-New/Building-Whisp-spring-2018/i-z9cg952/0/6c38ee9b/XL/whisp_inwales-4360-XL.jpg

To see more photos <click here (https://garywright.smugmug.com/Whats-New/Building-Whisp-spring-2018/)> to view my building log.

Pitsligo
10-28-2018, 11:57 AM
I use Kirby's semi-gloss on both topsides and inside for all the family boats: my 19' gaff-rigged sloop Bucephalus; her big tender, Toggle, a 9' "punt" of similar ilk to your boat; Nike, a 100-year-old punt similar to Toggle; and the interior paint of Foal, B's folding tender.

I don't know if the chips on the Kirby's card are semi-gloss, gloss, or matte.