PDA

View Full Version : Fiberglass tape issues.....

Ljaybo41
06-24-2018, 01:31 PM
I'm building a 13 ft catboat designed by Paul Fisher, the Petrel 13. All the seams and frames are filleted with system 3 easy fillet and sanded ready for taping.

Since I'm a novice, I started at the stern in an area that will be covered over by a bench and not seen. I used three inch 8 oz tape and it leaves a significant ridge along the edge. I'll sand that down but I'm concerned about how to remove the blush from the weave before I use a fairing compound to fill it in. Will a scotch rite pad be able to get in to all the ridges? Using west epoxy so blush is a issue.

For the more visible seams, If I switch to cutting my own tape from cloth to eliminate the ridge, can I wet on wet with fairing compound after laying the tape to fill in the weave?

Thanks everyone, building my first has given me a true appreciation for the craftsmanship I've seen on this forum.

Gib Etheridge
06-24-2018, 01:43 PM
One approach would be to use a razor knife to remove the selvedged edges as soon as the epoxy reaches the tacky state then apply the wet on wet. It's less work and done sooner that way. Just make sure you cut all the way thru so you don't peel the entire strip up when you peel off the partially cured resin/glass selvedged edge.

DeniseO30
06-24-2018, 01:53 PM
does it really matter on the inside? Gib's way works well. Dunno why you be getting blush with West. It washes off
If you want to sand the edge of the tape after it's cured hard that works, use a narrow block of wood instead of wide. only sand the tape edge.

tink
06-24-2018, 02:14 PM