PDA

View Full Version : seam putty

imported_Jimmy
03-08-2002, 08:59 PM
I've read a lot of the old threads about seam putty and alternatives, but I'm new to big wooden boats and a little confused.

I am waiting to take possession of a 1927 32 foot yellow cedar carvel planked sailboat. She has been out of the water for 2 weeks while the owners are having some minor repairs done after which time they will have the bottom painted and put back in the water.

I have had her surveyed and the hull is sound and the surveyor didn't suggest any repairs or work. There are, however, a lot of small dings, places where some of the seam putty has come out, small areas where the iron keel is corroding, etc. There is also one spot where the seam putty or stopping has come out between two plank ends and had been filled poorly with some kind of flexible compound.

I would like to fill in as many of these as possible before it gets painted and put back in the water, but I am getting a lot of different answers about what to use. Also I don't want to spend a pile of money yet since she isn't mine until the repairs are done and I see her in the water with her engine running.

Thanks

mariner2k
03-09-2002, 07:38 AM
Hi,
did your surveyor pull any fasteners? How did they check the keelbolts?
I have a 1931 ketch, so I know where your coming from. I know I'm not comfortable unless I go through every inch of the boat myself. If I sound over cautious, I have reason to be.