PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question- Lap Joint bonding

Centerpindrew
03-17-2017, 09:40 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner at wooden boat building. My first boat I am going to build is a 15' wooden drift boat. On the plans it says to epoxy the ribs/frame lap joints but also shows fasteners in place as well (never removing them). So after reading over 1,000 posts on the internet, I am officially lost with what to use for a bonding agent at this point, ie: Epoxy, PL Premium, etc. Some say stick with epoxy and some say use a polyurethane..

I donít have a problem spending the money on epoxy for this step but is it truly worth it for the rib framing lap joints? Again, they will be held in place with fasteners also and the inside of the boat wonít be exposed to constant water.

Not to mention that itís still cool weather in Upstate NY and I am working in a cooler work shop, not 70 degrees!

Any information would be excellent! Thank you all.

Peerie Maa
03-17-2017, 09:50 AM
The mechanical fasteners hold the joint in alignment until the glue sets. Leaving them in saves work.

Use a reliable waterproof glue, a lap joint should be strong enough with whatever glue you use, but ensure that it is waterproof, and if your joinery is not cigarette paper accurate, ensure that it is reasonably gap filling. It may not have water slopping over it every day, but it will be in a wet environment, so must be waterproof.

P.S. Welcome to the Forum. ;)

Gib Etheridge
03-17-2017, 10:20 AM
The designer most likely calculated for the strength of a full length continuous bond, you should do the same. You'll be glad that you did when you hit rough water.

Epoxy, hands down. System Three Cold Cure epoxy won't mind the lower temps at all.