PDA

View Full Version : Sully - aviation question

S/V Laura Ellen
09-14-2016, 10:38 PM
I saw the movie Sully the other day.
A couple of times in the movie the pilots made mention that Sully had started the APU before it was called for in the emergency procedures.
What is the significance of starting the APU as it pertains to this incident?
Was the APU required to fly/Glide the plane in for a water landing?

Gerarddm
09-14-2016, 10:42 PM
The only Apu I know is the deli mart owner in The Simpsons.

Pray, what is an APU?

S/V Laura Ellen
09-14-2016, 10:46 PM
Having very limited aviation knowledge, I may have got the acronym wrong, but I thoght the were talking about the Auxilary Power Unit (generator?).

Gerarddm
09-14-2016, 10:58 PM
Ah, thanks. I have zero avionics knowledge.

Jim Bow
09-14-2016, 11:18 PM
In the book "Fly by Wire: The Geese, the Glide, the Miracle on the Hudson", the author described it as a small propeller driven generator that dropped down into the airflow to provide electricity. Sully was grasping at straws and flipped a switch to engage the APU, when asked why he did it he said he didn't know.

Paul Girouard
09-14-2016, 11:30 PM
Not being a commercial aviation guy , I'd guess his APU might work inflight to provide some limited power to run flight essential instruments ?

In a Prowler and most of my era tactical jets we'd deploy a emergency RAT (Ram Air Turbine) a small if you will wind generator , again this would provide some essential electrical power .

The new tactical jets have APU's , and I think they have a battery that provides spark or what ever to fire off the APU , which you have right Auxiliary Power Unit . Having never worked on a jet that has one I don't know how they work .