PDA

View Full Version : do I need to re-epoxy or glass on used CLC outriggers?

littlebird
09-14-2016, 09:43 PM
I recently bought a set of CLC outriggers. I cant ask the original builder any questions because he is no longer with us. I am not sure if they were ever used or not, I don't think they ever were but,, I was looking at them today and noticed a couple of tiny nail holes that were not sealed when he coated the outriggers with epoxy. The holes go all the way through. The holes are smaller then a small paneling nail and you can see where the epoxy went around the hole but did not seal it. I am far from a expert, as a matter of fact I have only built a 16' stitch and glue canoe..
What is the best and easiest way to fix this problem? They don't appear to have ever had fiberglass laid over them.
Do they need to be glassed or can they just be sanded and re-epoxied? The holes are just barely big enough to get a small safety pin through.
.http://i472.photobucket.com/albums/rr88/Annaleigh_123/WP_20160914_18_40_58_Pro.jpg (http://s472.photobucket.com/user/Annaleigh_123/media/WP_20160914_18_40_58_Pro.jpg.html)

I plan to make some cross bars and add the outriggers to my canoe which needs to be refinished but i will make a new thread for that..

Thanks,
Littlebird

stromborg
09-14-2016, 09:57 PM
I'm going to guess that they aren't finished, mostly because all the s&g hulls I've seen are sheathed in a layer of glass. This last step closes up any holes left after the initial seal coat of epoxy.

littlebird
09-14-2016, 10:13 PM
What weight glass would you use and since the finish is old, don't know how old, would I just sand the outriggers to where there is no shinny surface, wipe it down with denatured alcohol, lay the cloth over them, and wet it in? Let it dry good and add a couple more coats?

stromborg
09-15-2016, 12:19 PM
Something light, but the good folks at CLC ought to be able to tell you what they designed into the project.